Booths L2P Rider 2024 Andrew Taylor

Written on March 22nd, 2024

I’m Andrew Taylor and I’m 54 years old.

I live near Clitheroe with my Fiancée Rachel and our 17 year old daughter Tallulah. I have been at Booths for 25 years. I work as part of the Estates department, maintaining the stores and sites. My mail role is to look after the signs and graphics. I also cover the general maintenance work.

How did you get into cycling – any tips for beginners?

I’ve been cycling most of my life. It’s progressed from a means of getting about to racing BMX’s then mountain biking, which I again ended up racing too. I purchased a road bike for training purposes and the rest is history as they say. I still enjoy mountain biking but most rides are done on the road bike these days. My advice for beginners is to just enjoy getting out, taking in the amazing views out there and enjoy the fresh air in your lungs.

What’s your favourite cycling snack?

My favourite cycling snack would be a plain flapjack but it definitely needs a coffee to wash it down.

What’s the one piece of kit that you need for a long ride?

My Goretex cycling jacket. I take it on most rides even the summer ones, given the reliability of the Great British weather.

Why are you keen to support Cure Leukaemia by riding the London 2 Paris?

I rode this event last year as part of team Booths. So being given the chance to take part again and raise money is the least I can do. Whilst completing the ride last year I heard first hand how leukaemia affected so many lives. So it’s a honour to be able to ride my bike with my colleagues whilst raising money for cure leukaemia.

What’s film you could watch every day?

Given that I’m not a big film watcher, I’m struggling with this one. The last thing I saw at the cinema was the remake of Talking Heads, 1984 Stop Making Sense concert. I could watch that one over and over again, but every day might be a bit much, I’ve training to do????

Donate to Andrew’s fundraising via Just Giving by clicking here.